Ode to a Missing Pen

Printed in LeftLion Nottingham Culture (UK), Issue 32, Dec 2009 - Jan 2010
Printed in LeftLion Nottingham Culture (UK), Issue 32, Dec 2009 – Jan 2010

I loaned it to him,

oh why did I loan it to him,

 he never gives pens back.

 

It was my good one,

the one with the squishy grip,

the one that seems to not

run out of ink,

 

oh my missing pen,

how I wish to find you,

to be returned to you,

to be reunited with you in my hand,

 

 

to scribble or draw,

to etch or write,

to conjure a verse from your nib.

 

but sorrow,

as my pen is lost,

 

I’m sure I gave it to him,

but if I ask,

would he even remember?

Think something? Then say something here...

